Getting Fit with US Army Veteran Tracey “Laweziana” Ford-byFelicia Malone

At Get Fit with Fe, I want to inspire others to live a life full of health and fitness. Nothing motivates me more than reading about successful weight loss stories of real women who daily face challenges and choose to overcome them. When I see their success, it reinforces that being fit is possible. Being fit is a choice. I am fortified in my resolve to workout harder and eat better.

Today, I would like to share with you a fit-spirational interview with fitness instructor, dancer and US Army veteran, Tracey “Laweziana” Ford. I am inspired by this young woman who has faced the dangers of war including several surgeries after an IED (improvised explosive device) exploded forcing her to jump from a burning vehicle in 2004.  Recovery and the side effects of medication resulted in Tracey doubling her regular 115 weight. Through all of the trials, she has emerged on the other side 115 lbs lighter. She lost weight with diet and exercise.

How Long have you been a fitness instructor and what would you consider your expertise? 

I have been a Fitness instructor for 8 years and my expertise is Line Dancing and Cardio Fitness.

How do you measure success and have you lost a significant amount of weight? 

I measure success by doing a little more than I did yesterday.  I have lost 115lbs. extremely significant.

What motivates you?  What’s your source of inspiration?

What motivates me are the soldiers that died to fight for our freedom.  I was only inured.  I still have life.  So, daily I get up and go hard for them.  All of my comrades before me that served and those after me. Being a Retired Army Vet and as a Black Female before age 40 is an honor and blessing.  I know God has a plan for me.

What is your diet regimen?

I don’t have a diet regimen.  I love to eat.  I just try to eat less junk and healthier food.  If I choose to eat not so healthy then I work out a little longer.

 Do you have a website and how can others be in contact with you?

I don’t have a website, however, I can be viewed on YouTube under Laweziana.

You can read more about SGT. Tracy ‘Laweziana’ Ford service and sacrifice at  Hero’s at Home http://www.mynetworktv.com/heroesathome/?hero=tracey_ford

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulMLlnBNUig&feature=player_embedded

Originally published at http://www.getfitwithfe.com/2015/01/getting-fit-with-us-army-veteran-tracey-laweziana-ford-.html

All photo credits Tracy Ford

Leave a Reply

