It’s Time to ignite your Passion to unlock your purpose-By Letrise Carter

I was watching and listening to Bishop TD Jakes sermon last night on YouTube, I heard him say it loud and clear, “Ignite your your purpose through finding your passion.”  Your passion will give you power to find your purpose.  It’s important that  you find your passion as it’s your calling to fulfill your God given destiny.  Your passion and purpose has a lot to do with self-discovery of who you are and what you were born to do.  When you don’t know who you are then you seek validation from others.  However, when you know who you are then you are a powerful force to be reckoned with because you don’t need anyone to validate you and you are fulfilled.

How many times have you heard or seen some of your friends creating multiple streams of income for themselves that support their dreams? Your dream cannot support itself nor can it build itself.  Most importantly, you are not fulfilled until you have discovered your purpose and calling on your life.  Bishop Jakes said something about purpose and talent that really got me to thinking about my passion, my calling, and my purpose.  He said that your purpose is your calling and it’s bigger than you and that your talent is not your calling.  Sometimes we confused the two and find ourselves saying,  “my talent is my purpose”.  No, that is not it!  Our purpose is buried deep within us and we have to tap into it to release such power.  Don’t get me wrong, our passion and purpose are inter-connected.  One empowers the other and we just have to be able to be able trust God, step out on faith, and believe in ourselves.

I have taken these steps from the sermon to help you understand how you can find your purpose by following these simple steps:

  1. Step out into the world with your dream in hand.
  2. Ignite the ideas, gifts, and talents that you dream to do.
  3. Expose yourself to opportunities to open doors .
  4. Build relationships and network with others who are doing what you desire.
  5. Trust and believe in God that he will guide you and direct you on your journey to purpose.

I learned last night how to identify my passion, my talents, and my gifts that have led me into my purpose.  I could not have walked into my purpose if I did not discover who I am first.  Before I could discovery who I am, I had to admit to myself that I was broken and lost.  Therefore, finding me and discovering who I am, who I belong to, and who loves me was a journey through the valley.  Sometimes we must go through the valley in darkness to discover the woman or man that we truly are.  We have to admit to ourselves and God that we we were lost and broken.  Ask for his forgiveness and accept his grace and mercy so that we may push forward to our purpose.

Have you been broken?  Are you lost and wondering through the valley not sure which way to turn?  Well, you will come out of the valley and you can be healed.  It’s never too late for you to discover your passion and your purpose.  Remember, Passion=Purpose because they interact work together.  It’s time to live on purpose.

Leave a Reply

