WHEN DID WELFARE BECOME AN ACCOMPLISHMENT??? By Toni Larue

Government Dependency is Destroying Black Communities

“No society ever thrived because it had a large and growing class of parasites living off those who produce.” ~Thomas Sowell

By now, if you don’t know, I love running my mouth and picking the brains of those who I have the pleasure of communicating with. Most of the time my conversation with others lead to very interesting topics that I can discuss with my readers. The conversation that I had the other day with a client of mine was no different:

Just when I thought my people were becoming conscience about the things going on around them, I received a figurative slap in the face and then I realize all over again why I write this blog and why I attempt to educate my people. My client and I were going over her finances so naturally that was the head space we both were in. She was explaining her finances and things she was planning to accomplish in the near future and then smiles big and bright, and thanked Jesus that she qualified for subsidized housing…better known as section 8. My response was congratulations but why was I congratulating her as if she had actually accomplished something. The truth is I didn’t know what to say, she was my “young” client (fully capable of working a full-time job and providing her herself) and the customer is always right…right? Now, before I start a war, I am not knocking anyone who receives public assistance but I want to shed the light on an epidemic that is subtly destroying the Black community.

“Government assistance should do exactly that…assist you until you’re in a better situation to provide or yourself and your family. Government assistance should not be the “better situation”. ~Toni Larue

Of course I got out my laptop and did a little research on the topic and here is what I found: Since the “War on Poverty” was implemented by United States President, Lyndon B Johnson (1964) there was an incline in teen pregnancy and the absence of men in the home began to rise.

How does a system that was designed to decrease poverty and make American’s (more so Black American’s) self-sufficient, make us dependent and self-entitled? There are many theories why this is so. Some people claim the government strategically set-out to destroy Black families. Others say the system was designed to create a dependency for the Government to gain and maintain control. I think it’s a little bit a both. Keep reading to see why J

Teen Pregnancy

I remember being a fresh faced college freshman standing in line at the college’s financial aid office. I had all these dreams and aspirations but they were quickly put on hold when I was told my mother made too much money and I didn’t qualify for financial aid. I couldn’t understand how that could be. I didn’t live in the suburbs and my mother worked at a fast food chain and we struggled every day to make ends meet. Feeling frustrated, I vented to a friend. This friend was my age (I was 18 at the time), with two kids. She told me she received assistance to go to school with free childcare. She then went on to say she only had to go to school for the first semester to get her $3000 financial aid check and then she would quite. I was pissed! Here I am, working a full-time job, with no kids and had every intent on making something out of my life and I couldn’t get the Government to even pay for my books? However, someone who couldn’t hold a job for more than two weeks and made the choice to have not one, but two children, was offered opportunities that she only took advance of, not to better herself as a person but to put new rims on her vehicle. I’ve seen this time and time again, young women continuing to have children for the sake of a check.

This brings me to my next point…

Taking the man out of the household

To get this “free” check, women had to be single, meaning the father could not be involved in the child’s life and not providing financially for his children. Sure, some women would lie and claim the male was not in the house hold, however; subconsciously, it created an illusion that is was more beneficial for the woman to be a single mother. In her mind, a man would reduce her income and where is the benefit in that?

When President Lyndon Johnson implement the “War on Poverty”, he stated his objective was to reduce dependency and break the cycle of poverty. However, the “War on Drugs” did the exact opposite. How can government assistance programs reduce poverty and dependency when these same programs make it comfortable for people by rewarding negative behavior?

 Author Bio

Toni Larue is an author, entrepreneur and women’s empowerment advocate. She is the author of fiction novels, Abandoned Secrets (available now) and No Kissing (release date TBD), and the co-owner and COO of Team Jon Doe Management and Entertainment and Sounwave Music.

Photo Credits

We accept EBT. Digital image.Gateway Arch bomb plot stopped by maxed out EBT card?. November 27th, 2014. Web. May 11th,2016.https://mpinkeyes.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/ebt.jpg

Leave a Reply

