Is the Stock Market the new Black Market? By Toni Larue

 “Don’t fear failure so much that you refuse to try new things. The saddest summary of life is: Could have, might have, and should have.

~Louis E Boone

 Growing up, I never heard my mother or grandmother talk about investing in stocks. It was something those “lucky” people did. So, I always thought that the stock market was for rich, White people.

I was introduced to the stock market my senior year of high school. I had to take Economics to graduate. My teacher, (Geesh! I can’t even remember his name) has the entire class buying and trading stocks for a whole semester.

Of course, we weren’t using real money but the experience of choosing stocks and using my fake money to purchase them and checking to see if what I chose increased or decreased every day, stimulated something inside my brain.

I wish I could say that, that experience opened my eyes to where I believed the sky was the limit…. but it didn’t. I saw the stock market as a fun challenge, a game. I saw it as a fun class project. No matter, how much I enjoyed it or understood it, in the back of my mind, it still wasn’t for someone like me.

It wasn’t until I got much older and start seeing regular people, people who looked like me actually utilizing the stock market, that it registered…hey I can do it too.

I’ve learned a lot about the stock market and I wanted to share a few tips

YOU DON’T NEED A LOT OF MONEY

There are millions of stocks to choose from, some are more expensive than others but there is something for everyone. One of the major misconceptions is that you need a large sum of money to invest. That’s a lie! You can start off by investing $5 a month and increase it as you can. Sure, initially it won’t make you a millionaire but that $5 will turn in to $10, will turn in to $20. See where I’m going with this?

USE COMMON SENSE

Do you need a stock broker? Nope! A stock broker isn’t necessary, just follow the market and use your common sense.  A man told me once, all he does is watch the parking lots. If they’re full, he buys. I wouldn’t be that relaxed about it (lol) but I saw his point. It’s common sense.

Take Home Depot stock for instance. I would buy a Home Depot stock in the winter. Why? Because the stock will be at a low-point. Once the spring and summer start rolling along those stocks will rise. Why? Because people work on their houses when the weather is better.

Investing in the stock market might seem scary. As a little girl, I was terrified of escalators until I rode on one and realized it allowed me to get to my destination faster and less out of breath. The moral of the story is we’re all scared of the unknown. Which leads me to my next tip:

EDUCATE YOURSELF

Please don’t read this article and throw your hard-earned money into the stock market. Educate yourself on the different stock options available. How do you expect to make an educated decision on what stock to choose if you’re not familiar with it?

My tips for the stock market are vague and that is on purpose. I want to motivate you but you have to do the work. Explore the wonderful world of the stock market. And remember people that look us US…we invest in the stock market too.

One of the very nice things about investing in the stock market is that you learn about all different aspects of the economy. It’s your window into a very large world. ~Ron Chernow

Check out this video for more inspiration

Photo Credits

For image:Boom. Digital images. The Stock Market Boomed but Most Black People didn’t benefit. February 09th, 2017. http://financialjuneteenth.com/the-stock-market-boomed-but-most-black-people-didnt-benefit/

 

Author Bio:

Toni Larueauthor-Toni-Larue

Toni Larue is an author, entrepreneur and women’s empowerment advocate. She is the author of fiction novels, Abandoned Secrets (available now) and No Kissing (available now), and the co-owner and COO of Team Jon Doe Management and Entertainment and Sounwave Music.

http://www.teamjondoe.com

Her newest novel is now available on amazon at

 

 

Leave a Reply

